Posted in bookish

Books To Read If You Enjoyed Riverdale

This may be an ‘unpopular opinion’, but I will admit that I quite like watching Riverdale (although, personally, I prefer the earlier series, with the second being my favourite).

For anyone who hadn’t heard of Riverdale, it is an American teen drama series which is based on the characters featured in the Archie comic book series. Four series have been aired to date and a fifth has been confirmed.

If, like me, you are impatiently awaiting the new series (which I believe is currently being filmed!), you might enjoy reading some of the following books, all of which reminded me in some ways of Riverdale.

1. One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

“Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention, Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?
Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.”

2. The Cheerleaders by Kara Thomas

“There are no more cheerleaders in the town of Sunnybrook.

First there was the car accident—two girls gone after hitting a tree on a rainy night. Not long after, the murders happened. Those two girls were killed by the man next door. The police shot him, so no one will ever know why he did it. Monica’s sister was the last cheerleader to die. After her suicide, Sunnybrook High disbanded the cheer squad. No one wanted to be reminded of the girls they lost.

That was five years ago. Now the faculty and students at Sunnybrook High want to remember the lost cheerleaders. But for Monica, it’s not that easy. She just wants to forget. Only, Monica’s world is starting to unravel. There are the letters in her stepdad’s desk, an unearthed, years-old cell phone, a strange new friend at school…Whatever happened five years ago isn’t over. Some people in town know more than they’re saying. And somehow Monica is at the center of it all.

There are no more cheerleaders in Sunnybrook, but that doesn’t mean anyone else is safe.”

3. A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder by Holly Bourne

“The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it.

But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the murder, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn’t so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final year project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden. And if the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to keep Pip from the truth?”

4. Five Little Liars by Amanda K. Morgan

“Ivy, Tyler, Kinley, Cade and Mattie were virtual strangers before Dr. Stratford’s psychology summer class. That all changes when an altercation after class leaves the five students standing over their teacher’s corpse.

Now they have to get rid of the body and come up with a story that doesn’t end in jail time. With the police hot on the case, they don’t have long to figure out how to trust each other. But in order to take the lead, you have to be first in line.

And that’s the quickest way to get stabbed in the back…”

I’ve read all of these, but I’m looking for books similar to Riverdale to keep me going until series five airs; leave me a comment if you have any recommendations!

– Elanor 🙂

Author:

Elanor ~ 21 ~ Book Blogger

10 thoughts on “Books To Read If You Enjoyed Riverdale

  1. I love Riverdale! It’s my favorite show right now, with Victorious being second (It’s amazing, you would never think it’s an old show). Great book recommendations, they all seem in my favorite genre. I’m actually writing a murder mystery book called Fresh Out Of the Grave on one of my websites, the Writer’s Weekly. Could you check it out? I would love to hear some feedback! Awesome post, by the way!
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I binged Riverdale last year and then caught up to the series. I waited a little bit until the rest of the fourth season was online, but when I went back to it – I found I couldn’t really enjoy it anymore. I can do some suspension of disbelieve but everything together was too much for me at the time. I might get back to it.
    If you have enjoyed Riverdale, have you seen Elite yet? I recommended it also to my sister who was very much into Riverdale and she enjoyed it a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s